top of page










A Country Doctor Goes to War

One of Three Finalists

In the Biography Category

Winners to be Announced May 13th, 2015


The 25th Annual Midwest Book Awards Finalists were announced in April, 2015


 A record 90 publishers from the 12 Midwestern states in our region (Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin) participated. Some books were entered in more than one category—for a total of 363 entries. 


Biography Finalists:


A Country Doctor Goes to War by Tamara Thayer/Minnesota Heritage Publishing


Studying Wisconsin: The Life of Increase Lapham by Martha Bergland & Paul G. Hayes/Wisconsin Historical Society Press, Madison, WI


The Great Heart: The Life of I.A. O’Shaughnessy by Doug Hennes/Beaver’s Pond Press, Edina, MN


Three finalists are selected in each category. From those, one (1) winner is chosen. Finalists and award winners receive certificates. Winners will also receive a bronze medallion and be featured in the MIPA Gala Program, in MIPA press releases, and on the MIPA website.


The Midwest Book Awards Gala will be held on May 13, 2015, from 6:30 to 8:30 p.m. at the Olson Campus Center at Luther Seminary in St. Paul, Minnesota. The awards ceremony is not a public event; reservations are required.


Note:  The above is excerpted and summarized from their MIPA website


bottom of page